Three HASS faculty, Dr Mihye Cho, Dr Yow Wei Quin, and Dr Ate Poorthuis have been awarded a L2 NIC grant (given by MND) to rethink the future of housing in our city state, in collaboration with colleagues from the Architecture and Sustainable Design and Engineering Product Development Pillars, as well as MIT and EDF.

 MOU signing at Housing Development Board

The New Urban Kampong Research program focuses on creating a cross-disciplinary platform through public and private collaboration (HDB-SUTD-MIT-EDF) to rethink the future of housing in Singapore. Housing in future should be more than a place to live in, but collaborative and inspiring neighborhoods where people experience and achieve important moments in their lives: relationships, community, health, enjoyment and personal goals. This vision embraces and integrates social, psychological, typological, technological, digital, architectural, and urban components, to create a conducive environment where residents can live, work, play, learn, and bond. The program aims to develop various conceptual framework and practical tools to promote vibrant collaborative urban communities, which will then enable future town planning and housing design towards the development of a NEW URBAN KAMPONG.

SG50 HDB decorations by Kelman Chiang

There are four interdisciplinary projects proposed under this program, tightly integrated to redefine and provide fine-grain geo-demographic composition of different types of HDB towns, develop indicators of quality of life in the neighborhoods,  develop and evaluate the effectiveness of more localised and contexualized urban design strategies, tools, and platforms, as well as integrate with other environmental indicators, modelling, and validate the indictors with simulation and prediction.

From left: HASS Dr Yow Wei Quin, Dr Mihye Cho and Dr Ate Poorthuis

Overall Programme Lead PI – Chong Keng Hua (ASD)
Project 1 :
• Lead PI – Yow Wei Quin (HASS)
• Co-PI – Ate Poorthuis (HASS), Yuen Chau (EPD), Benjamin Mousseau (EDF)
Project 2 :
• Lead PI – Mihye Cho (HASS)
• Co-PI – Ate Poorthuis (HASS), Benjamin Mousseau (EDF)
Project 3 :
• Lead PI – Chong Keng Hua (ASD)
• Co-PI – Yuen Chau (EPD),  Takehiko Nagakura (MIT), Benjamin Mousseau (EDF)
Project 4 :
• Lead PI –  Roland Bouffanais (EPD),
• Co-PI – Bige Tuncer (ASD), Benjamin Mousseau (EDF)